Diddy Riese ice cream sandwiches

After dinner with friends in Westwood Village the other night, I was introduced to the marvel of calorie bombs that is the Diddy Riese ice cream sandwich. No trip to the UCLA area can be complete, apparently, without pushing your taste buds to the verge of revolt by consuming a scoop of ice cream and two fresh-baked cookies within the course of 15 minutes.

I’ve never been a big ice cream sandwich fan, but for $1.25 I figured I could give it a try. It’s definitely a case where the whole is greater than the sum of its parts: you pick two cookie flavors and an ice cream flavor, and they assemble the thing right before your eyes. Some of my companions went crazy with the taste sensations (Snickerdoodle, chocolate cookie with white chocolate chips, and pistachio ice cream) but I ordered up a chocolate chip trifecta: two chocolate chip cookies with mint chip ice cream.

The flavor was excellent, but the sweetness was overwhelming. Unlike most of my companions, I didn’t finish my sandwich, though the sugar was so addictive I ate several bites past the onset of stomachache. The enthusiasm we had while waiting in line (oh, did I forget to mention there was a line that stretched down the block?) had transitioned to the fastest sugar high and sugar crash on record. Like its culinary cousin, the deep-fried Twinkie, the Diddy Riese ice cream sandwich is a treat you only need to try once.

Leave a Reply

