Culinary discovery

I made the black-bottom cupcakes last night while half-watching America’s Next Top Model. It was the episode where all the models had to pose as murder victims, and I found it weirdly hard to tear myself away. The cream cheese filling, which you’re instructed to make first, got pretty runny while waiting to be used. By the time I assembled the cupcakes, the cheese mixture was so fluid it didn’t have enough weight to sink through the middle of the cupcake. I wound up with actual black-bottom cupcakes–a chocolate cake stem topped with a disc of the sweet cream cheese. They still taste great, though. Maybe I’ll call them Snow-Cap cupcakes, because there is something of the ski resort to their look.

Leave a Reply

